A Hole in the Wall

I should start at the beginning. I was born in Ukraine, but given up at 6 months of age to the Kremenchuk orphanage outside of Kiev. At three and a half, I was adopted and brought to the United States of America, Where I have lived with my adoptive family since. One day I’d like to meet my birth parents. The rest of my life is pretty normal, school, friends, family, etc. Except for my Cleft.

I was born with a cleft palate, pharyngeal flap, and lip. I’ve had over ten surgeries in 14 years, and I’m still going.  So, that kinda sucks honestly. A Cleft palate is basically where the roof of the mouth does not finish fusing together before birth.

Cleft lip and cleft palate are facial and oral malformations that occur very early in pregnancy while the baby is developing inside the mother. Clefting results when there is not enough tissue in the mouth or lip area, and the tissue that is available does not join together properly. In most cases, the cause of cleft lip and cleft palate is unknown. These conditions cannot be prevented. Most scientists believe clefts are due to a combination of genetic and environmental factors.

It takes repeated surgeries to close the gap, and more to repair the cleft lip because it spreads into the nose and nostril cavity, deforming both of those. When it becomes repaired, there is a ton of scars. The roof of my mouth is all scarred up, and there is o jagged one that runs up from my mouth to my nose, but unless I told you, most of you will never know. My nose and lip are still slightly malformed, but you’d never really notice unless it was pointed out really. Here are a few pictures to demonstrate. (The adorable guy on the bottom is not me)

Post operative cleft palate

Post operative cleft palate – This is what my scar looks like, and this is not me

English: an image of a baby with cleft palate,...

English: Cleft lip and palate

Cleft lip and palate in baby

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Life/World, Media, Personally Unique, Picture Perfect, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

