Nothing to Fear

The saying goes “There is nothing to fear but fear itself.” This is bull. First of all, if you fear nothing, you are arrogant and cocky, and it will lead to your ultimate downfall, like in Shakespeare’s Macbeth. Everyone needs to have at least one fear to remind them, they are not invincible, and they are indeed human. A fear is a weakness, and weakness makes us a better person for having one. Even Super Heroes have fears and weaknesses. Superman-kryptonite, Batman-(ironically) Bats.

Mine, well I and slightly afraid of clowns, they don’t terrorize me, but I am on edge and slightly nervous when they are around.

Now Spiders, they provoke the fight or flight survival feeling, no screaming, just flat out deadly fear. For a slit second I will panic and become motionless in terror. I will literally stop dead if I see one. But that terror is immediately replaced by a kill or be killed instinct. I am irrationally afraid that given the chance, the spider, regardless if I know it isn’t even remotely poisonous, it strives for the single satisfaction of killing me. Literally, I am obsessed with it until it can no longer hurt me. I am so terrified of them, I can calmly kill them with a shoe.

But I’m not heartless. I will only kill them if it is impossible to  relocate them safely outside away from me. As in a cup or glass and paper, and set them outside. When that  no longer becomes an option, or they are over the size of a half dollar,they are dead to me.

I don’t kill everything, and I’m not afraid of them all. Daddy Long Legs, which are not true spiders, are ironically the most lethal spider, its venom could kill five men. But its fangs are too small to pierce our skin. Anyways,  I have no problem with them. I will pick them up n my hands and let them crawl over my hands and arms. I’m also perfectly okay with tarantulas.

I’ll tell you about my encounter with a mammoth wolf spider that was in my basement in a later post.

I also have a problem with sock monkey. Creeps the hell out of me. Seriously. My mom used to slip it in my door way and that would be the first thing I’d see. I can not handle sock Monkey Especially in pink. Though my reaction and feelings are most similar to the clown fear.

What are you afraid of?

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in Batman, Life/World, Personally Unique, Science, Super Heros and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing to Fear

  1. Pingback: OrganicXpression.com Ideas: Kryptonite Superman’s Biggest Fear | OrganicXpression.com

Leave a Reply

