Defining the Odds

“When they give you lined paper, write the other way.”

To some people it means not only going against the current, it to them means damn up the river, take a few lives, and wreak as much chaos as possible until someone pulls you back under. To me, it means defining gravity. No matter how much life lays upon your shoulders, one has the ability to defy the odds and raise from masses below; to be able to let go of what weighs you down, but knowing better then to let go what matters the most, and those who matter to you.

I believe in risk and reward, but I also believe in consequences. I do this thing where I plan to do something, anything, and plan out my consequences and rewards for everything, from what I’m eating for breakfast, to whether or not I’m going to do my homework, all the way up to paying for classes, to determining a career and college.  Basically, if what ever I’m going to do will seriously hinder my future, I’m not going to do it. Plain and simple. I am very goal oriented. I truly refuse to screw up my future. We have to make our mark, and I plan to leave an impression that is irreplaceable. Not on everyone, just those who matter, because in the end, its those people who rely on you, who you rely on, who judge you, and those you must look in the eye at the end of the day. Make sure you can hold your head high. I work hard to earn a person’s trust, which is hard enough already. One little thing and the whole thing will come raining down upon you. At that point the best you can do is seek shelter and hope for is the opportunity to replace it.

To me, trust is but a mirror. Once it is broken, you can piece it back together. It may become functional again, but the crack will always be visible, and it doesn’t take much for it to shatter it again.

I’m not saying I don’t ever have fun or break the rules. Trust me. I do. Plenty. Radical things, but things I can look back on and know I may have shocked you, or even altered your perception of me a bit, but I can still look you in the eye and know that I’m not ashamed of what I’e done.

To those who go against the current and wreak chaos, remember, its not just you. You are pulling everyone close around you down too. What you do effects them. Not only are they disappointed and ashamed to be associated with you, they are now associated with you. What you have just done has now tarnished the reputation of those around you. It’s known as guilt by association. They may not have done anything wrong, but you did, and now people who look up to them are disappointed in them for associating themselves with someone like you.

Life isn’t about swimming against the current, it is about pulling yourself out from the mass of the normal and shining against all odds. It’s about finding shore and safety,climbing out and finding your beloved, then diving back in to help them find their way out. I’ve learned long ago, you can’t help everyone, seriously you’ll get swept away and no one will save you, but everyone can help someone find their way ashore.

It is about inspiring to set an unheard of goal, obtaining it, and being able to look back upon your life and smile. Writing the other way is hard, and requires dedication and determination, but it is achievable. But also remember, it’s easy to stray and lose your way when there is nothing to guide you. And sometimes, it’s better to have someone close to guide you, then to screw them over and take no prisoners.

The hardest part of climbing the ladder to success is getting through the crowd at the bottom. And if you want respect when you get to the top, you had better have worked hard to get there and thank those who helped, not by calling fire and clearing the room to make an easy ascend up the ladder.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in Life/World, Personally Unique, Quotable Quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

