No Such Thing as Normal

Every normal person, in fact, is only normal on the average. His ego approximates to that of the psychotic in some part or another, and to a greater or lesser extent. Sigmund Freud.

To me, Normality is a state of mind, no, a reference that we create to base what we see and experience. It is simply a reference point for how we take in the world. I love blood, guts and gore, but hate horror movies. But I’m the daughter of a veterinarian, and practically grew up in the clinic seeing this all the time. I know people who faint at the sight of blood.

Gay marriage- so many people attack it because it’s “wrong,” but I think people should mind their own business. Who cares. Not saying I support it, but I know plenty of gay guys, and frankly, you couldn’t tell they were gay. Unless you were told. They are pretty cool people. I’m not going to lie. They are literally the best friend you want, but tougher, not moody, and aren’t looking for drama.  They are awesome people. The concepts weird, but hey, as long as you aren’t preaching it down my throat, I’m cool. To me is normal. Others, like my family, grew up believing it’s wrong, and that it shouldn’t be. To them it’s not normal, but I say it is. It’s all about how you see the world.

My friends, some of them are considered flat out geeks, nerds, fanatics or crazy. (But then again, aren’t we all in a way?) To me they are my normal. What’s strange is the awkward distance people have who are “best friends.” My best friends, guys or girls, we are tight. They could all write the overly embarrassing biography I’d never want leaked to the public. Some of these friends could tell you three unique facts about their closest ally. But to them, that’s normal. The closeness I share with friends it strange and foreign to them.

Normal isn’t a true thing. We are all kind of strange. We have our quirks that make us unique and different. To some, our quirks might be normal.  To others, you are some untouchable riddle better left unsolved.

Normality is more of an ideal, an utopia of a thought. But being honest, ideals and utopias are never perfect. They are always wrong in someone’s eyes, always a flaw overlooked that someone else can see.

Normal is not a thing.  It is a personal ideal, but having such a closed mind to openness and strange and new is part of our lack of unity as a race. The reason wars begin. This ideal causes a dispute, unrest, and an upheaval of opinions. If we could let go of this idea of Normality, then we could learn to understand each other, cherish differences in color, race, or culture. Then, and only then could we earn the right to call ourselves the greatest species to reign Earth’s surface. Then maybe we could create a true utopia. But to do that, we have to learn to let go of our differences, and the first step it to eradicate the idea of normal.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
Quote | This entry was posted in Life/World, Personally Unique, Quotable Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

