Bunker it out Alone

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

A lot. I better be on death’s doorstep. Actually, if someone offers to help, I’ll respectfully decline. If they ask again, I’ll seriously weight cost/benefits in my mind and accept. I seriously hate being a burden on other people. But I was laid up for two weeks after my surgery, and literally could not even reach out to grab a pillow, let alone stand and walk. So I was forced to have other wait on me, which actually killed me. It physically made me think I was better than I was and was up and walking about a week before they said I’d could. Just to grab my own food and such. I know hundreds of others who would milk it out in weeks, but I was back to school and functional (as well as I could, I mean, I was supposed to be out for two weeks minimum) in just six days. I was on 30+ pills a day. I was supposed to be on them for a month or more depending on the pain. Well pain killers don’t work in me, (which sucks when you seriously could use them, like then), so I stopped taking them by day five. (I reduced the number starting day four, by day seven I was completely of them). I did finish out my antibiotics and such though.  But it’s weird, and it’s just me. I hate being an invalid and hate being waited on. I’m going to be one of those cranky elders who refuse help, even though it would be easier with help. I’m not stupid though. If I know it will be impossible, I can emit defeat and easily ask for help. My father and I were moving 250 lb granite slabs, and yes, actually i could have carried it, but my fingers were clammy, and I knew I would have dropped it, so I called in some backup to help with the moving. But for the most part, I’m setting up camp, hunkering down, and soldiering it out alone.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Life/World, Personally Unique, Quotable Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

