Making Someone’s Day

So I went to the United States Morgan Farm (UVM Morgan Horse Farm). Anyways, awesome place. The horses are majestic, though small. The average Morgan is about 14.1 to 15 hands. It might be because my Arabians are over 16 hands each.  So anyways, the UVM Morgan Farm raffles off a new born foal. I bought a ticket mainly to support the group. The cashier present was elderly-ish and seemed kind of lonely. Regardless I bought I ticket and she handed me one to fill out. I wrote my personal information down: name, number, etc. and handed it back. She took it and looked it over. Then her eyes kind of glazed over and she half smiled. For a good minute she just stared at my ticket. (I was waiting for her to give my half of the ticket.) Finally she asked what my last name was and I replied Bannister. Then she smiled and stared of into the distance. For about another minute she just stood there staring. I almost was afraid she may have died. (Same stare thousand yard stare corpses have) Finally she looked at me and said, that was my maiden name. So then we got to talking about the scarcity of the sir name Bannister. Apparently all seven of her brothers to whom she was close to had passed away. Finally I left. I could tell that she was reminiscing old times by the smile and tear that was running down her face. I felt kind of sad that I made her cry, but it was about the memories of the past. I also felt a weird sense of happiness because I had made her day, (and probably the year) by simply writing my name.  So make someone’s day, say hello, compliment someone, especially the elderly.

Image

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Life/World, Media, Personally Unique, Picture Perfect and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

