Blog 10- Most Embarrassing Moment

My most embarrassing moment would have to be at the Buffalo Bills game. It was early November, and a bit chilly. Nothing too bad though.I am part of the Attica Senior High School Band, which was the official band of the Buffalo Bills. So we are out on the field practicing our field show and I started to feel a little nauseous. Just over all sick. Mind you the air didn’t feel too cold. I had a thinner jacket then I would have liked, but just the same, I didn’t feel usually cold. Well, I still felt sick and was growing a little sick every second. Then as I’m carrying my bells across the field, my arms feel sore, not cold sore, but drained of energy sore. When we got to the other side,  was losing my vision in chunks. That freaked me out. Still don’t feel cold. I laid back and tried to control my vision. The director came over to ask what was wrong. I remember telling her I felt sick to my stomach. Then it went black.

I’ve fainted before. Your eyes get sore, your vision goes black around the edges, and you just fall unconscious.  This was not like those times. I had eaten just shy of a horse on my way over, and was certainly not overheating.

Next thing I know, can finally hear. It felt like  had been out for a while. To confirm this, I can hear some one very far of talking about how long I’m still unresponsive for. But at this time, all I can do is hear, and the voices are very far off and muted. And every time they moved me, the touch is simply an unregistered sensation. It’s almost to the point of cool, but you don’t ever want to feel it. This was freaking me out. I had never been out that long, and this wasn’t a faint because I would be fully functioning like ten minutes ago. Slowly, though it seemed like ages, though it was about five minutes, I could begin to open my eyes just a hair.  could see like six faces around me, but it was blurred. After about two minutes, I could open them enough to see the worry on their faces and the relief that came when I could see. I still couldn’t move my muscles. After a few more minutes, I can just begin to form sound, though nothing legible. at his time they are asking if I’m alright and if I could drink, but I can’t process anything. All I could think about was my arm pit, and how it hurt because the jacket was riding up t to the point of painfully. Actually, in hindsight, I’m glad it did, because I’m sure that’s the only way I was able to regain consciousness. Anyways, Finally thy can understand that I want the to fix my jacket and about the same time, I realize that they want me to drink and I accept. That was some cold Gatorade. About five minutes later, I have enough  strength to half walk, half be carried tot he go-kart that took me off the field. As I was leaving, the entire band was cheering for me like there was no tomorrow. Talk about embarrassing.

When I got to the field house, one of the medics checked me out, and I’m not saying he wasn’t drop dead sexy, I wish we hadn’t met this way. Anyways, turned out my heart was freezing, though I wasn’t and my heart literally was slowing to a stop. It wasn’t hypothermia, it was just slowing down. After about ten minutes, I started shaking violently, like full time seizure violent, though it was only shivering. I got picked up by my parents and waited at my house. When the bad dropped off the kids in Bennington, I went down, really just to tell my director that I was okay because she had been calling every half an hour. Actually, everyone had. I even got a get well gift of chocolate delivered to my front door signed my my section. So basically, the entire day was scary as hell, because I’ve never had something like that happen, and being told you were literally on the brink of death is something you never want to hear, that and embarrassing beyond embarrassing. At least most people’s embarrassing moments are around a few, or at least strangers. Mine was in front of a national football team and the majority of my classmates.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in 31 Day Blog Challenge, Health and Wellness, Life/World, Personally Unique and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

