Blog 15- A Day in My Life

Although this depends on the time of year I shall give you a snapshot of what happened today. Today may not be typical of most days, but as of lately, this is my life. I woke up about 6:30, panicked as always, that I missed my alarm for school. I did not miss it as I am not attending school due to summer. I roll over and try to fall back asleep. I can’t. I lie in bed thinking about different topics until 8:30. Most of my thinking occurs in the morning after waking up before my alarm.  By 8:45 I’m in the shower and by 9 I’m dressed for work. I had an early shift so I was running behind. I got in my car and drove off to work. On my way, I stopped at TOPS to pick up a protien shake and a Clif Bar to eat for breakfast. I got to work and sat in my car enjoying my sad little breakfast. I had already brushed my teeth prior to leaving, so I enjoyed a mint and a Listerine breath strip to kill my breath. I clocked in around 10:15 and walked to the ‘Hut.’ My day officially begins around 10:45. I take out equipment, get ready go through the meeting and get on stand. At 11 all hell breaks loose as they open the gates to the public. I’m a lifeguard.
At 12 I get a 30 minute break and when I get back on stand we rotate until I am at the position before break. Come to find out, 10 people called in, therefore we get frozen in place. I don’t get a break until 5 pm and it’s a 5 minute bathroom break. All of the bathrooms have a line acrossed the way, meaning that it would be about 30 minutes before I got to use one. So I go back on stand, hungry and still having to go. Two hours later we finally close for the night, and I get audited. For seven hours I was stuck in a roaming circling position watching the water. As in circling in an area smaller then a pizza for seven hours making a complete circle of a huge area in less than ten seconds, and then repeating it, over and over, for seven hours, minus the 5 min break.
Today I got out early. My hip was so sore,  my feet are burnt and blistered on the hot concrete that when I get home I’m limping so badly that both of my legs are beyond lame. I go to bed early around ten, and then spend two hours pondering life. This is about the typical day for me as a life guard, although I started late and ended early today.
About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in 31 Day Blog Challenge, Life/World, Lifeguard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

