Blog 18- A Story From My Childhood

When I was younger, as the title implies, my friend and I used to invent. Looking back it was less of “inventing” and more of creating new solutions to old problems. More of a Rube Goldberg style. Anyways, our biggest “invention” was a toothpaste machine. Basically you would cut a string of some sort, and a large weight would fall onto the tube releasing tooth paste. Really, that’s all it boiled down to. Looking back I can think of several improvements to increase the overall accuracy and productiveness of the machine, let alone the aesthetic appeal. That’s irrelevant at this point in time.

So we were up late in her garage. As in really late, even for little kids. And we were working on this machine that was going to make us a fortune. With a lot of duct tape, floss and tooth paste wasted from the building stage, we got hungry. So we snuck back into her house and grabbed us some snacks.  We crept in because we thought her parents were sound asleep.  Little did we know.

As we were making our way back into the garage, we walked down the steps. Our invention was in the middle of the garage in a large clearing if you will. So we are talking and laughing and figuring out what to do to make it work. We set back to work.

All of a sudden, we hear the loudest BANG! Her parents had snuck into the garage and hid under the stairs and had waited for us to come back to scare us. It was the best. We were so terrified by the sound. Her parents are practically rolling on the floor laughing at our faces, which must have been priceless. They had set off those party poppers, the ones that spray confetti. Anyways, that was one of my most priceless moments in my life that I shall never forget.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in 31 Day Blog Challenge, Funny/Comic, Life/World, Personally Unique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog 18- A Story From My Childhood

  1. Dussel_Brad! says:

    Ha!Ha! Childhood memories are such a treasure. I remember my poor experimentation with silly things. I once washed my face with a toothpaste to feel the mint. I must confess that it was refreshing 😀

Leave a Reply

