Blog 19- Something I Am Struggling With

I’m going off to college in the fall. It will be fun and a great experience. However, I’m worried about a friend. I don’t know why. She seems reclusive to me as of late, and I don’t know why. We have been best friends since 5th grade and although we have our differences every now and then, we have always been there for each other. Yet since summer has begun, she seems like she is disappearing faster than sand running through your hand. I shouldn’t be worried, stuff is changing for both of us, but maybe I did do something. Was I over-protective? Was I not there for her enough? I know I may have had my faults, but were they too many to ignore? Was I too honest about my thoughts on her boyfriend? Too many what ifs, and not enough answers. Maybe this is nothing at all. But she seems upset, but doesn’t want to talk. I won’t push her, but it still makes me sad.

About lbannister117

I’m the outdoorsy kind of girl, one of those rugged beasts. Try hard, play hard, take no prisoners kind of people. I have the intelligence, and the feminism, but yet I'm still the hard-core ‘one of the guys’ kind of girl. I enjoy the company and views of others, and love having in depth conversations about everything under the sun, whether it be politics, the weather, an event in history, the news, or simply a good story.
This entry was posted in 31 Day Blog Challenge, Life/World, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog 19- Something I Am Struggling With

  1. alteric says:

    It sounds like you are both on the cusp of big changes. It’s a long time since I was your age, but sad to say I did drift away from many of my great friends from school. It happens and it makes us sad. Consider that your life is about to change and hopefully you will go on to do things that maybe you aren’t even considering right now. Its the same for your friend.

    What do you say? It isn’t exactly “goodbye for ever.”, but its more than “see you later”, and that is awkward. For many people if you aren’t sure how to deal with something, not dealing with something seems like a good answer. There is good news however.

    I found that when I did meet an old school friend many years later, it was like we hadn’t ever moved apart. Friendship doesn’t die unless you kill it. It can bloom again at any time. My advice, for what it’s worth (probably not much) is in the words of the Beatles, “Let it be”. It will work out in the end.

    Good luck at College by the way!

Leave a Reply

